The King of Iron Fist Tournament 7, or How I Spent My Summer Vacation

The King of Iron Fist Tournament 7, or How I Spent My Summer Vacation

I haven’t been blogging much lately, mainly because my office has instituted oppressive internet policies that keep me from doing anything fun. But I’ve also been playing some cool games in my off time. One such game is Tekken 7, which came out last week.

I’m not very good at all at this game, but I’m still having fun with it, practicing against motionless dummies and having a few cautious forays into the unranked matches online. As for honing your skills offline, there is the mandatory silly story mode, along with a couple of other modes that pit you against random CPU fighters. One new mode is the “Treasure Battle” mode, which earns you money and costume parts that you can use to dress up any characters. Here I modified Kazuya to look like me. And by that I mean “dark hair and a beard”.

Kazuya customization
I couldn’t turn up the muscles anymore, so it’s not a perfect recreation.

I played a lot of Tekken 2 and 3 back in the day on the original Playstation, and only had a cursory knowledge of the “story”. As this is a fighting game series, I don’t expect anything riveting, but it would be good to know why all these bozos are clobbering each other. I also don’t recognize half of these ladies and gentlemen, not that it matters, since this is an ACTUAL CHARACTER YOU CAN FIGHT WITH.

Kuma
How can anybody expect to beat a bear?

Anyway, if you’re like me and have tuned out of this series for three console generations, you’re probably lost too. Fortunately Bandai Namco has us covered with a couple of helpful recap clips.

Leave a Reply

